Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance

Delayed Deposit Service License

All business engaging in "payday lending" services are required to be licensed by the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance. Laws governing payday lending services are provided in the Delayed Deposit Services Licensing Act, Neb. Rev. Stat. งง 45-901 - 45-930.

A Delayed Deposit Services Business License covers only the main location. Branch applications must be made separately. Main office licenses and branch licenses are valid from the date of issuance until the following May 1, at which time the license(s) must be renewed.

To obtain a Delayed Deposit Services Business License, an applicant must submit:

  • a complete Delayed Deposit Services Business License Application (no unanswered questions);
  • an original surety bond issued by a surety company authorized to do business in Nebraska;
  • a complete Delayed Deposit Services Business License Biographical Questionnaire for each officer, director, shareholder, partner or member;
  • a complete Delayed Deposit Services Financial Statement (Individual) for each officer, director, shareholder, partner or member;
  • a Request for Criminal History Check for each officer, director, shareholder, partner or member;
  • A check in the total amount of $15 per each person for whom a Request for Criminal History Check is submitted (i.e., if 10 individuals are required to submit a Request for Criminal History Check, the total payment would be $150). This payment should be made payable to the Nebraska State Patrol
  • A non-refundable application fee in the amount of $500 made payable to the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance.

If the applicant wishes to apply for a branch location within the same county as the main office license, the following additional items must be submitted:

  • A complete Application for a Branch of a Delayed Deposit Services Business License for each branch location;
  • A current corporate financial statement, including a balance sheet and income and expense statement. The financial statement should identify the number and outstanding balance of uncollected checks as of the date of the statement; and
  • A non-refundable application fee in the amount of $150 for each branch location made payable to the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance.

Once the application for a new license has been determined to be complete and all information has been submitted, the agency has 90 days to approve or deny the application. Review the Guidelines for Delayed Deposit Services Business License Application for more information regarding publications, hearings and costs.

After the publication process, a hearing will be held on the application. The applicant is responsible for payment of costs associated with this hearing. If it is determined that further investigation is needed, the applicant will also be responsible for the costs of such investigation.

The applicant will be notified in writing of the department's determination.

Apply for a license