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Nebraska’'s Cryptocurrency ATM Law

Through a new law, Nebraska’s Controllable Electronic Record Fraud Prevention Act, located at
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 8-3032 to 8-3042, the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance (the
“Department”) is responsible for the regulation of cryptocurrency kiosks, also known as “crypto
ATMs.” This law includes several consumer protection provisions that the owners and
operators of the crypto ATM machines must follow. This handout is designed to provide
information to law enforcement regarding this new law, the relevant provisions, and when to
refer matters to the Department.

Consumer Protection Provisions

e Licensure of crypto ATM companies e Disclosure and receipt requirements
e Fee caps and transaction limits ¢ Refunds to defrauded consumers

Refund Provision

To be eligible for a refund, a consumer MUST report the fraudulently induced transaction to
law enforcement or the Department AND to the crypto ATM operator within 30 days of the
transaction. New customers may be eligible for a full refund of the principal and any
transaction fees, while existing customers may be eligible for a refund of the transaction fees.

Referrals to the Department

As the Department is responsible for licensing the crypto ATM operators and is in the best
position to assist defrauded consumers in pursuing a refund under the law, all crypto ATM-
related reports should also be referred to the Department for review.

Any referrals to the Department should include as much transaction information as possible.
Often, receipts from a transaction at a crypto ATM will have a variety of useful information that
will help the Department initiate our investigation, so those should be included with referrals,
where they are available. Our complaints portal can be accessed online at:
https://ndbf.nebraska.gov/consumers/complaints. Additionally, the Department may be
contacted via email at dob.complaints@nebraska.gov. or via phone at 402-471-2171.

More information on this new law can be located on the Department’s website at:
https://ndbf.nebraska.gov/industries/crypto-atms.

Page | 1



Cryptocurrency ATM Victim Remediation Diagram

Customer falls victim to a fraud
and sends money via a Crypto
ATM in NE

May receive a full or partial refund if
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following within 30 days:
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